While many talk about offering high quality care, Hazard Health and Rehabilitation Center is winning awards for it, giving you comfort that you are choosing the right partner for care.

Press and Accolades

KAHCF Awards

1977 – Community Involvement Award for Year Round Activities.
1978 – State Award for National Nursing Home Week Activities.
1979 and 1980– State Award for Community Involvement and Originality in Year Round Activities.
1983 – State Community Involvement for National Nursing Home Week.
1984 – Eastern District and Statewide Award Community Involvement for National Nursing Home Week.
1984 – Media Award, Randy Walters of WSGS Radio.
1985 – Humanitarian Award for Alan Beuscher, Volunteer.
1986 – Eastern District, Award for National Nursing Home Week.
1988 – Volunteer of the Year Award, Anna Bowling, Volunteer Coordinator.
1985-1989 – Caring Practice Award presented by the Procter & Gamble Company.
As mentioned above in 1989, Hazard Nursing Home was awarded (and earned!) the KAHCF Statewide Facility of the Year.
1994 saw our then administrator, Debbie Reynolds honored as the Statewide Administrator of the Year.
2000- Eastern District Professional Achievement Award – Certified Nursing Assistant Category.
2000 – Eastern and Statewide Professional Achievement Award – Activities.
Adult Volunteer of the Year 2007 was awarded to one of our earliest volunteer ministers, Bro James Hamblin, whom still to this day, faithfully provides a weekly ministry for residents.
Hazard Nursing Home was honored with the KAHCF Adult Group Volunteers Award for two years running, 2008 and 2009.
2009, was a good year for awards at Hazard Nursing Home, as the Better Life Competition Award – Media Category, was presented to the WJMD Radio Station. Sponsored by Hazard’s People’s Bank and Trust, WJMD Radio broadcasts the daily Hazard Nursing Home Happenings.
2010 saw Tilda and Ken Melton as winners of the Better Life Award, Family Involvement.
2011 Amy Asher, Nurse Practitioner, brought home the award for Medical Services.
2012 Better Life Award, Family Involvement, went to Lois Goosey.
2012 we were also winners as Janie Morgan, Social Worker and Tiffany Fugate, Activity Assistant brought home awards.
2013 saw Danny Campbell, Maintenance and Teresa White, Activity Director as winners.
2014 Dr. Gilbert won as our Medical Director.
2015 was a big year as Tammy Jones won Nurse of the Year and both Elizabeth Gibson, Medication Aide and Brenda McIntyre, Dietary placed in the Top 10 in the State.
2015 our Innovative Program of Pet Fostering won.
2016 saw Rita Baker, LPN place in the Top 10.
2017, Ashley Oaks-Smith, LPN, Clinical Coordinator and Joanne McIntyre, SRNA placed in the Top 10 in the state.
2018 Angie Henson, LPN and Carol Butler, SRNA placed in the Top 10 in the state.
Spring of 2019 – We had two winners of Elder Abuse Awareness Awards – Michelle Branson, Activities Director and Susan Smith, Social Services Director.
2019 – Paul Couch, Adult Volunteer and Mary Couch, RN Top Nursing Care winner.